top of page

Week 3 - Chronophotography

Updated: Nov 1, 2018

This week I am continuing to experiment with the techniques Light Painting, Motion Photography and Chronophotography. I am also looking into motion tracking to record a pattern.


Experiment:

In my first test with chronophotogrpahy last week, my images taken from motion photography were blurry so the pattern and movements weren't very clear. This week my motion shots were a lot clearer so I was able to put together a better image.


Testing Part One:

Below are some of the sets of motion photography I tested this week. I attempted to use both a manual digital camera (Set One & Two) and a DSLR (Set Three & Four) to capture continuous shots of me walking. Both cameras were able to use "Continuous Shooting" mode that took rapid photos. The DSLR could take 3 fps and the other camera could take 10 fps.


Reflection:

Unfortunately it was a little darker than I would have liked so the shutter speed wasn't as fast as I wanted which meant there was a little motion blur, mainly around the feet. I would need to record the movement in a studio with controlled lighting. However it is an improvement from last week. However, if I were to continue use with these then this could be fixed with editing in post.



Testing Part Two:

I then used the images from Set Three (shown above) to create a chronophotograph.

I used all the shots from the set/sequence this week, as opposed to every 4th shot like last week, as the DSLR camera could only take 3fps which worked out ok in this case because it gave space between the movements in this image.


Version One

Version Two

Reflection:

I did 2 variations of this series. Version One has each new layer over/on top of the other from left to right. Version Two has the last few layers to the right end (where I mostly have my back to the camera) under the previous layer. I did this because I felt with the perspectives, the final few layers seemed out of pace in the first image. By changing the order it looks as though everything curves from the centre and opposed to everything in a line which looked slightly off. This could have been because of the wide lens used added distortion.


Conclusion:

Motion photography and chronophotography are nice techniques to use to capture the positions and body movement over time in a series or image. They also create a pattern, especially through chronophotography. If I were to continue experimenting with this I would do it on a plain background so there are no distractions and the focus is only on the pattern and person. However, I do think other methods of creating pattern may be better for this project as this technique doesn't just focus on the movement over time but the positions/poses we make. For this project I mainly want to represent the overall movement and not look at the poses.



 

Camera Setting References:

Brown, C. (2013). Moving Target. In Canon EOS 6D: From Snapshots to Great Shots (1st ed., Vol. 6, pp. 89–94). Peachpit Press. Retrieved from http://www.peachpit.com/articles/article.aspx?p=2062173&seqNum=7

Continuous Shooting - Canon PowerShot SX260 HS User Manual [Page 124]. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.manualslib.com/manual/275853/Canon-Powershot-Sx260-Hs.html?page=124


Continuous Shooting Speeds (EOS REBEL T3/EOS 1100D). (2016, March 23). Retrieved October 28, 2018, from https://support-th.canon-asia.com/contents/TH/EN/8202653900.html

1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page